Would you replace this wing

Started by Spitz, December 06, 2015, 03:46:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Spitz

My 61 van is becoming a bit of a chore.

Upon removing the seam cover this little rot patch showed.  It's actually the only rot on the whole wing.
There are several holes, and dents around the holes, from the PO who apparantly kept trying different mirrors!

MiniDave

How good are your metal working skills? Can you work those dents back out too?

I'd be tempted to cut out a patch and weld it in.
Complete failure at retirement

1989 Cooper Racing Green
2009 Clubman S
2014 Audi Allroad

Spitz

My metal skills are shyte....I'm just learning.
My plan was to pick up a dolly and try to work on the little dings, I've been watching a few how to vids.

My concern right now is that little bit of rust.  Is a patch OK there?   I would try to make a bend to match the seam

94touring

My thoughts are this.  Wings are cheap and for the most part easy to replace.  By removing them when they are partially rotten, you also are also able to clean the seams at the scuttle and front panel which I can almost guarantee have rust in them.  Personally I'd replace them.  The amount of time spent patching can be spent popping off the old wing and fitting the new.  If you decide to replace I have pointers to make it easier. 

MiniDave

If your welding and metal working skills are not top notch, I agree with Dan - replace it and spend your time on other things, Keep the old fender and practice on it as you have time.

1989 Cooper Racing Green
2009 Clubman S
2014 Audi Allroad

Spitz

"Popping off" easier said than done.  I can't believe how long it took to get that a-panel off and spot welds out. Me and my grinder sent sparks flying for probably an hour.
As for spot weld drill bits....don't you still have to grind away until you find the spot welds?