Way Off Topic - Tremec

Started by tmsmini, November 24, 2020, 09:17:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

tmsmini

Why would I ask this question here in  Mini forum? I believe there is alot of automotive knowledge here.

Tremec just came out with the TKX transmission. I have some knowledge on American cars, but not alot.
My son has a 1967 El Camino 327 with a 4 speed.. We think it has the hi-performance engine, but the transmission got swapped at some point. Most likely it had a Muncie when it started its life, but it now has a Saginaw that probably came from a late 70s car. It has atransmission controlled spark connector on it.

The engine is coming out and it makes sense to do something with the transmission as it leaks a bit. I found someone who can rebuild the Saginaw, but he has not given me a quote yet. There are people who sell the rebuilt Muncie as well. People on the El Camino forums seem to strongly suggest the Tremec TKO, but now they came out with the TKX.

It seems that some installation require a good but of custom installation which I most likely cannot do.

Anyone with experience with a Tremec installation?

MiniDave

My first questions are what is he going to do with the car? Is it a drag racer? Street racer? Custom cruiser? Is he trying to keep it original? would he prefer a 5 or 6 speed for highway use?

My point is the easiest route  is to simply rebuild the current trans as you know it fits and works.

So what is the advantage of the Tremec to the build?

Don't they offer kits with the proper adaptors? Seems like since it's going in one of the most produced and hot rodded cars on the planet, there should be a bolt in kit available?
Complete failure at retirement

1989 Cooper Racing Green
2009 Clubman S
2014 Audi Allroad

cstudep

Had an uncle that used to have a Mustang II drag car that utilized a Tremec. It worked well but was not cheap, at least at the time.