this new part time job of mine

Started by 94touring, August 14, 2009, 04:27:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

94touring

Well as you guys may or may not already know I'm a pilot.  With the thousands of airline furgloughs and my flight work that slowed up in Arizona, the girlfriend and I moved to NC, where I'm originally from and where most of my family is.  The economy is not very good for getting any kind of job, but I did get hired by Delta (again) to do non piloty type work.  When I was in flight school a few years ago I worked for Delta as the guy that throws and damages your bags :).  So I got that kinda job again, but they also threw in the fact I have to do ticket counter and gate.  The ramp work with the planes and bags is easy and for the most part halfway fun while getting a small workout.  The ticket counter and gate on the otherhand is a fuggin nightmare for someone like me.  Its all dos commands.  Which I'm not sure if delta realizes this or not, but dos is totally 80's.  So here I am trying to learn how to input a gazillion codes into outdated crap while people are pissed off that their flight is delayed or canceled.  Not only that but the people showing me all the codes to input are doing it at lightening warp speed, as if I can actually retain or keep up with all the info thats flashing before my eyes.  So its just A display TD/date key/ilmatl enter DTGC display enter  oe14y/oe13y/date ilm enter...........  and on and on and on.  "you can remember that right?"   Ahhhh no, how about you guys give me a book with this stuff in it so I can sit up here and hope to god I can fumble through it correctly with someone screaming at me that they can't get into Prague tonight.   

Enjoy your flight ma'am, I'll be the guy not flying today.     

MPlayle